Chapter President's Message


Message from 2020 Chapter President, Alex Hoenig, MAI


Kansas City Appraisal Colleagues,

It is my pleasure to serve as the President of the Kansas City Chapter of the Appraisal Institute for the upcoming year. I am surrounding by a leadership group that is forward thinking and will continue to advance our profession for our existing local professionals in addition to continuing the important mission of recruiting new talent into the local appraisal community.  The 2020 board will include the following:

Alex Hoenig, MAI - President

Jill Adams, MAI, AI-GRS – Vice President

Daniel Frazee, MAI - Treasurer

Brock Heyde, MAI – Secretary

Andrew Baker, MAI – Director

Brian McHenry, MAI – Director

Jessica Perryman – Director

Matt Speer, MAI – Immediate Past President


The current chapter membership continues to be heavily weighted towards certified and designated appraisers and our focus on Continuing Education will continue.  Homegrown education that offers a local perspective for chapter membership will continue to both a source of quality information, as well as great networking opportunities.   

In 2019 we offered seven hours of homegrown education that were well attended including a Review Panel discussion that was a great way to find common ground among the fee appraisers and reviewer appraisers.  Thank you to Lin Schulze, MAI, AI-GRS and John Daly, MAI, AI-GRS for their insights.   

Qualifying Education, and Continuing Education to a lesser extent, continues be a challenge due to the undeniable convenience of online education options.  I would encourage all members, especially those in the early stages of their careers, to sign up for as much in-classroom education as possible.  Classrooms provide the best opportunities for networking and building relationships that will help your day to day business. The in-classroom instructors also provide the best learning experience that can’t be substituted online.  For 2020, the education committee will be chaired by Andrew Baker, MAI, with Craig Rastorfer, Don Gossman, SRA and Brian McHenry, MAI serving on the committee as well.  More information will follow in early 2020.

In addition, Susan Smith, MAI, AI-GRIS, CCIM and Jill Adams, MAI, AI-GRS are making important inroads in forging a relationship with UMKC and the Lewis White Real Estate Center by sponsoring the their 2020 UMKC Real Estate Symposium.  The long-term goal of this relationship is to provide appraisal education to current college and graduate students which will allow them to enter the workforce with a head start on qualifying education.  Licensed appraisal attendees are eligible for 6 hours of continuing education.


The Communications committee is responsible for the newsletter and website. It is chaired by Tyler Siegworth, MAI and Brian Klahr will serve on the committee as well.  For all job postings, please contact Tyler or Brian for assistance.

Candidate Guidance

For those working on a path to designation you should currently have a candidate advisor and I would encourage you to continue leaning on them.  For local candidate issues, this committee is chaired by Jason Roos, MAI with support from Derek Shaner, MAI.

Nominating Committee

If you have a suggestion for the next round of leaders, this committee is chaired by Immediate Past President Matt Speer, MAI.  The rest of the committee will be filled at our first chapter meeting in the first quarter of 2020.

If you have any questions, or want any additional information on any of these topics please feel free to reach out to me.


Alex Hoenig, MAI
2020 Chapter President